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TREIA
Tiffany Elder, MBA
8/30/2012
www.tiffanyelder.com
www.coralbuilt.com
   The information in these pages is for
    informational purposes only. The Author makes
    no representations or warranties, either express
    or implied regarding this information. While
    every effort has been taken to ensure the
    accuracy of this information, the content is
    naturally subject to change. The reader agrees
    that in no event will The Author be held liable for
    any direct, indirect, or consequential damages
    arising out of action taken, or not taken, related
    to the information included herein.
 Former software engineer
 Realtor & Managing Broker of Paradigm
  Properties
 NC Licensed General Contractor
 Full-time in real estate since 2003
 Investing activities include
  rentals, wholesaling, rehabbing, historic
  restoration, condo conversion, shortsales, new
  construction (residential and commercial) , tax
  credit projects, private lending
Rehabbing
 How to Finance
 How to Pick em
 How to Fix em
 How To Sell em


   Bonus: Historic Restoration

   No picsjust knowledge!
   Whats your goal?
     Rehab and resell
     Rehab for rental
   Level of repair youre willing to take on
     Risk versus reward tradeoff
   Financing source
     Determines the type/condition of the property
     you will buy
This comes first!!!
 Cash
 Conventional financing (livability rule)
       Floor coverings, windows, etc..
       Can limit the properties you can buy
       Advise your lender of your plans (short-term)
       Higher rate versus points
   Hard money lenders/private lenders
   Self-directed retirement accounts
   Commercial lenders
   ???
   Removes the limitations of traditional financing
   Leverage your retire accounts to fund deals
     More stable returns
     Secured by real estate
     Faster retirement account growth
     Must follow SEC guidelines
 No self-dealing allowed
 Must use a qualified self-directed account
  custodian
   Roll funds over to a self-directed IRA
    custodian to fund your account
   Determine the type of investment
   Send a Letter of direction to custodian
   (Custodian will not advise you during the
    transaction. They only manage the account)
   Purchase/Fund the deal
   Best candidates: Individuals/friends with funds in
    retirement accounts or IRAs that are losing value
   They serve as your bank and you pay them
    interest.
   Depending on the type of account used, the
    interest they receive may be tax free
   Same process as for your personal self-directed
    account, but
   Always get proper insurance
    (renter/vacancy/fire/GL/etc)and record the
    deed of trust/promissory note
 Your purchase price is 50k
 15k in repairs
 5k misc. costs (closing costs, utilities, etc)
 ARV is 100k
 Structural repairs needed, therefore conventional financing wont work
So
 You borrow 70k from your private lender at 10% for 1 year
 Secured by the property at a safe LTV
 After completion and refi/sale, your bank make would not s 7k and you
  are left with 23k equity in a deal that you would not have been able to do
  otherwise
 WIN-WIN is important
 Higher risk deals require a higher return for the bank and vice-versa.
 Use funds for residential, commercial, land development, company
  purchases, etc
 Avoid prohibited transactions and self-dealing
   Wholesalers
   FSBO
   County sales
   Realtors/MLS*
   Craigslist*
   Newspaper*
   Pre-foreclosures

*Look for key terms (handyman special, needs
  work, hidden gem)
   Ugly homes in pretty neighborhoods
   Homes in need of updating/cosmetic repair
   Desirable location (even if it is a lesser home)
   Close to shopping/amenities
   Strong school district
   Path of revitalizations
   Tax-friendly districts
   LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION
   You need to be where buyers/renters want to live
   ???
   Functionally obsolete
     Walk through bedroom to get to kitchen
     5 beds/1 bath
     Anything that sticks out like a sore thumb
   Extensive structural work (unless you have the stomach for it)
   Undesirable location (harder to retail)
       Near utilities/railroads
       Far from conveniences/amenities buyers want
       Weak school district (especially for larger homes)
       Very busy streets
   Weekend additions
   Flat roofs (unless you are familiar with these)
   Steep driveways
   Environmental challenges (oil tanks, lead paint, asbestos, etc)
   ???
   County property/tax sites
   Zillow/Cyberhomes/Trulia/Tota View
   Google maps
   Drive-bys (know your competition)
   Realtor CMA
   Proprietary tools (CRS, etc)
   ???
Formula #1
(ARV*70%)- rehab costs  5k = max purchase price
BUT dont miss out on formidable opportunities
 just because they dont fit this formula.
Formula #2
ARV-rehab costs-profit-10% of ARV =max
  purchase price
(10% covers brokerage fees, soft costs, buyer CC,
  etc)
ARV = $150,000
Home needs 20k in repair

Formula 1:
 Max purchase price =
(150k*70%)-20k-5k =$ 80,000
Formula 2:
150k-20k rehab-20k profit-15k = $95,000
Investigating these will help to ensure that your estimated costs are
   on target:
 Inspections (home, pest, etc)
 Repair estimates
 Violations/lis pedens against the home
 PRIP violations
 Flood zone
 Zoning (especially in multifamily properties)
 Permitted use
 LOCAL Historic district (GIS)
 Unpermitted work
 Consider taking state home inspectors class if you plan to rehab
  often
 ???
Points to focus on in your rehabs:

 Structural and Systems
 Kitchens and baths are key
 Curb appeal and first impressions count (15 second
    rule)
   Give it character
   WOW items (focus in a fewbuyers wont remember
    all of them)
   Learn the norms in the area and make it slightly
    better
   BUT Dont overbuild
   Build your team
   GC versus Handyman
       Size of the project (NC $30,000 threshold)
       Permits
       Multiple parts to the project
       Your experience
       Hands-on vs. hands-off
       Dont let cost be the decision-maker
         Contractor cost
         Contractor experience and supplier discounts
   REMEMBER
     Your time is valuable
     You get what you pay for
IF you choose to work with a contractor:
 Get references
 Check license status
 Check insurance (call yourself)
 Work agreement in writing
 Lien waivers (youll need this when you sell)
 EPA RRP Certification
   Habitat stores
   Large discount suppliers
     Surplus Warehouse
     IKEA
     Historic salvage warehouse
   WindowWorld
   Local investor references (TREIA, etc)s
   ???
   Beware of tradesmen that tell you your project
    doesnt require a permit.
   Check with the city/county/municipality if you arent
    sure.
   Certain items require permitting
     Plumbing, electrical, HVAC, decks, structural
     $ amount of project may require a permit
   Not pulling a permit can cost you later
     When the county inspector drives by and notices work
      being done onsite.
     When your buyers Realtor/ home inspector does their
      research.
   Pre 1978 housing requires additional attention when renovating
   If you are disturbing an area greater than 6 sqft of the interior of
    the house or 20 sqft of the exterior of the house
   You must give a copy of test results to homeowner or tenant with
    in 30 days of test.
   You must give the homeowner or tenant a pamphlet advising of
    the hazards of lead base paint. They must sign in recognition of
    pamphlet.
   You must keep documentation of test in file for 3 years.
   You must be a certified RRP Renovator to oversee the removal.
    (Make sure your repairman/contractor is certified).
   Follow the rules (these apply to landlord/maintenance work too)
   Up to $30k fines PER DAY
   IF YOU WILL REHAB OLDER HOMES REGULARLY, GET
    CERTIFIED
FSBO
 Pros
   Costs less
   Works well in high-demand areas
   State disclosures still required
Realtor
 Pros
   More visibility (Realtors, buyers, and several online
    venues through MLS)
   Assistance with the negotiations and closing process
   Good cop/bad cop filter
Be aware of changes in financing
   90 day FHA rule
   Verifying your repairs for your buyers lender
Be aware of limitations at time of purchase
   Deed restrictions
Make it appealing to buyers
   Quality work
   Incentives
Make it appealing to Realtors
   Good condition
   Incentives
   Buy right (make your money when you buy)
   Price to sell
   Keep landscaping in order while on the
    market
   Use safe numbers
     Conservative estimates for resale
     Exaggerated estimates for rehab costs
   Renovate the home to your personal tastes
   Overbuild for the area
   Stray from your budget (make tradeoffs)
   Overlook the small stuff (switch
    plates, knobs, etc)
   Forget about curb appeal
   Forget to consider soft costs
    (utilities, insurance, buyer CC, prorated
    expenses, etc)
   Tax credits
     30%
     20%/20%
   To qualify (for income-producing property)
     Contributing home must be in a NATIONAL historic
      district
     Minimum rehab = adjusted basis of the property
     MUST follow the Secretary of the Interiors Historic
      Restoration Guidelines
     Must follow hold-time requirements
   Visit NC State historic preservation website for
    more info
   Qualify the property
   Application
     Before photos
     Project description
   Fees
   Rehab
   Finalize application
     After photos
   Vinyl siding
   Non-conforming replacement windows
   Removing plaster
   Changing floorplan in main rooms
   Changing exterior on street-side elevation
   Note that not all project costs are eligible for tax
    credits
     New construction
     Landscaping
     Etc
 $30k purchase price (assume purchase price =
  adjusted basis) , $30k renovation, $5k misc.
  costs
 $100k ARV
.
 $65k total project cost
 40%*30k renovation costs  $12k tax credits
 Realized project cost after tax credits= $53k
   You have a
   100k home with only 65k invested
   35k equity
   $750/month rent
   $500 PITI

 =$3000 annual cashflow
 $12,000 tax credits
(Historic tax credits can minimize or eliminate your
  tax bill! Chat w/ your CPA for restrictions)
 $50k purchase price, $125k renovation
 $325k ARV
.
 $175k total project cost
 40%*125k renovation costs = $50k tax credits
 Property rented for $2100/month
 PITI = $1200 per month

   Cashflow = $900/month ($10,800 annually)
   Equity = $150k
   $50k in tax credits
SMART Real Estate Investing

More Related Content

SMART Real Estate Investing

  • 2. The information in these pages is for informational purposes only. The Author makes no representations or warranties, either express or implied regarding this information. While every effort has been taken to ensure the accuracy of this information, the content is naturally subject to change. The reader agrees that in no event will The Author be held liable for any direct, indirect, or consequential damages arising out of action taken, or not taken, related to the information included herein.
  • 3. Former software engineer Realtor & Managing Broker of Paradigm Properties NC Licensed General Contractor Full-time in real estate since 2003 Investing activities include rentals, wholesaling, rehabbing, historic restoration, condo conversion, shortsales, new construction (residential and commercial) , tax credit projects, private lending
  • 4. Rehabbing How to Finance How to Pick em How to Fix em How To Sell em Bonus: Historic Restoration No picsjust knowledge!
  • 5. Whats your goal? Rehab and resell Rehab for rental Level of repair youre willing to take on Risk versus reward tradeoff Financing source Determines the type/condition of the property you will buy
  • 6. This comes first!!! Cash Conventional financing (livability rule) Floor coverings, windows, etc.. Can limit the properties you can buy Advise your lender of your plans (short-term) Higher rate versus points Hard money lenders/private lenders Self-directed retirement accounts Commercial lenders ???
  • 7. Removes the limitations of traditional financing Leverage your retire accounts to fund deals More stable returns Secured by real estate Faster retirement account growth Must follow SEC guidelines No self-dealing allowed Must use a qualified self-directed account custodian
  • 8. Roll funds over to a self-directed IRA custodian to fund your account Determine the type of investment Send a Letter of direction to custodian (Custodian will not advise you during the transaction. They only manage the account) Purchase/Fund the deal
  • 9. Best candidates: Individuals/friends with funds in retirement accounts or IRAs that are losing value They serve as your bank and you pay them interest. Depending on the type of account used, the interest they receive may be tax free Same process as for your personal self-directed account, but Always get proper insurance (renter/vacancy/fire/GL/etc)and record the deed of trust/promissory note
  • 10. Your purchase price is 50k 15k in repairs 5k misc. costs (closing costs, utilities, etc) ARV is 100k Structural repairs needed, therefore conventional financing wont work So You borrow 70k from your private lender at 10% for 1 year Secured by the property at a safe LTV After completion and refi/sale, your bank make would not s 7k and you are left with 23k equity in a deal that you would not have been able to do otherwise WIN-WIN is important Higher risk deals require a higher return for the bank and vice-versa. Use funds for residential, commercial, land development, company purchases, etc Avoid prohibited transactions and self-dealing
  • 11. Wholesalers FSBO County sales Realtors/MLS* Craigslist* Newspaper* Pre-foreclosures *Look for key terms (handyman special, needs work, hidden gem)
  • 12. Ugly homes in pretty neighborhoods Homes in need of updating/cosmetic repair Desirable location (even if it is a lesser home) Close to shopping/amenities Strong school district Path of revitalizations Tax-friendly districts LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION You need to be where buyers/renters want to live ???
  • 13. Functionally obsolete Walk through bedroom to get to kitchen 5 beds/1 bath Anything that sticks out like a sore thumb Extensive structural work (unless you have the stomach for it) Undesirable location (harder to retail) Near utilities/railroads Far from conveniences/amenities buyers want Weak school district (especially for larger homes) Very busy streets Weekend additions Flat roofs (unless you are familiar with these) Steep driveways Environmental challenges (oil tanks, lead paint, asbestos, etc) ???
  • 14. County property/tax sites Zillow/Cyberhomes/Trulia/Tota View Google maps Drive-bys (know your competition) Realtor CMA Proprietary tools (CRS, etc) ???
  • 15. Formula #1 (ARV*70%)- rehab costs 5k = max purchase price BUT dont miss out on formidable opportunities just because they dont fit this formula. Formula #2 ARV-rehab costs-profit-10% of ARV =max purchase price (10% covers brokerage fees, soft costs, buyer CC, etc)
  • 16. ARV = $150,000 Home needs 20k in repair Formula 1: Max purchase price = (150k*70%)-20k-5k =$ 80,000 Formula 2: 150k-20k rehab-20k profit-15k = $95,000
  • 17. Investigating these will help to ensure that your estimated costs are on target: Inspections (home, pest, etc) Repair estimates Violations/lis pedens against the home PRIP violations Flood zone Zoning (especially in multifamily properties) Permitted use LOCAL Historic district (GIS) Unpermitted work Consider taking state home inspectors class if you plan to rehab often ???
  • 18. Points to focus on in your rehabs: Structural and Systems Kitchens and baths are key Curb appeal and first impressions count (15 second rule) Give it character WOW items (focus in a fewbuyers wont remember all of them) Learn the norms in the area and make it slightly better BUT Dont overbuild
  • 19. Build your team GC versus Handyman Size of the project (NC $30,000 threshold) Permits Multiple parts to the project Your experience Hands-on vs. hands-off Dont let cost be the decision-maker Contractor cost Contractor experience and supplier discounts REMEMBER Your time is valuable You get what you pay for
  • 20. IF you choose to work with a contractor: Get references Check license status Check insurance (call yourself) Work agreement in writing Lien waivers (youll need this when you sell) EPA RRP Certification
  • 21. Habitat stores Large discount suppliers Surplus Warehouse IKEA Historic salvage warehouse WindowWorld Local investor references (TREIA, etc)s ???
  • 22. Beware of tradesmen that tell you your project doesnt require a permit. Check with the city/county/municipality if you arent sure. Certain items require permitting Plumbing, electrical, HVAC, decks, structural $ amount of project may require a permit Not pulling a permit can cost you later When the county inspector drives by and notices work being done onsite. When your buyers Realtor/ home inspector does their research.
  • 23. Pre 1978 housing requires additional attention when renovating If you are disturbing an area greater than 6 sqft of the interior of the house or 20 sqft of the exterior of the house You must give a copy of test results to homeowner or tenant with in 30 days of test. You must give the homeowner or tenant a pamphlet advising of the hazards of lead base paint. They must sign in recognition of pamphlet. You must keep documentation of test in file for 3 years. You must be a certified RRP Renovator to oversee the removal. (Make sure your repairman/contractor is certified). Follow the rules (these apply to landlord/maintenance work too) Up to $30k fines PER DAY IF YOU WILL REHAB OLDER HOMES REGULARLY, GET CERTIFIED
  • 24. FSBO Pros Costs less Works well in high-demand areas State disclosures still required Realtor Pros More visibility (Realtors, buyers, and several online venues through MLS) Assistance with the negotiations and closing process Good cop/bad cop filter
  • 25. Be aware of changes in financing 90 day FHA rule Verifying your repairs for your buyers lender Be aware of limitations at time of purchase Deed restrictions Make it appealing to buyers Quality work Incentives Make it appealing to Realtors Good condition Incentives
  • 26. Buy right (make your money when you buy) Price to sell Keep landscaping in order while on the market Use safe numbers Conservative estimates for resale Exaggerated estimates for rehab costs
  • 27. Renovate the home to your personal tastes Overbuild for the area Stray from your budget (make tradeoffs) Overlook the small stuff (switch plates, knobs, etc) Forget about curb appeal Forget to consider soft costs (utilities, insurance, buyer CC, prorated expenses, etc)
  • 28. Tax credits 30% 20%/20% To qualify (for income-producing property) Contributing home must be in a NATIONAL historic district Minimum rehab = adjusted basis of the property MUST follow the Secretary of the Interiors Historic Restoration Guidelines Must follow hold-time requirements Visit NC State historic preservation website for more info
  • 29. Qualify the property Application Before photos Project description Fees Rehab Finalize application After photos
  • 30. Vinyl siding Non-conforming replacement windows Removing plaster Changing floorplan in main rooms Changing exterior on street-side elevation Note that not all project costs are eligible for tax credits New construction Landscaping Etc
  • 31. $30k purchase price (assume purchase price = adjusted basis) , $30k renovation, $5k misc. costs $100k ARV . $65k total project cost 40%*30k renovation costs $12k tax credits Realized project cost after tax credits= $53k
  • 32. You have a 100k home with only 65k invested 35k equity $750/month rent $500 PITI =$3000 annual cashflow $12,000 tax credits (Historic tax credits can minimize or eliminate your tax bill! Chat w/ your CPA for restrictions)
  • 33. $50k purchase price, $125k renovation $325k ARV . $175k total project cost 40%*125k renovation costs = $50k tax credits Property rented for $2100/month PITI = $1200 per month Cashflow = $900/month ($10,800 annually) Equity = $150k $50k in tax credits

Editor's Notes

  1. How many of you have participated in rehabs?These deptetmine many of the pieces down the line.
  2. You need to be where the market wants to buy.