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How to Rank in Google
Hello!

   How consumers search
   Local listings
   Paid listings
   Web SEO
   Measuring results
Two Octobers
                                                Helps local businesses get customers through
                                                online marketing.




http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/adulau/4242287504
Consumers Primary Source to

                                                                                          Find Local Businesses


       30%


      20%


       10%



                       Search                                           Internet           Local
                                               Print YP                                            Other
                      Engines                                              YP             Search
Source: TMP Directional Marketing/15miles & comScore, Local Search Usage Study, Q3 2010
Why Consumers

                                                                                          Select a Local Business


    30%


    20%

    10%


                   Business                  Most    Ratings &                             First   Has Print
                   Location                 Familiar Reviews                              Result    YP Ads

Source: TMP Directional Marketing/15miles & comScore, Local Search Usage Study, Q3 2010
e Search Engines We Use


        70%
        60%
        50%
        40%
        30%
        20%
        10%

                         Google            Yahoo!   Bing    Ask    AOL


Source: Hitwise, 4 weeks ending 01/01/11
Paid Listings




               Local Listings


                                Paid

Web Listings
How We Look At Search Results




息 2010, ionadas local LLC and Sentient Services, LP www.ionadas.com, www.sentientservices.com
http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/chitrasudar/2785759455/




What About Me? What Should I Focus On?
It Depends...




Image attribution on last slide
Local Listings


http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/lorenzinhos/1410985867/
                                                                       Local SEO
Paid Listings




Local Listings


                 Paid
Claim Your Listing




Local SEO
Mmm
             Next stop:
                                                              donuts!
              bakery




              Research the keywords people use to 鍖nd businesses like yours.
http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/tanelteemusk/2966785202/
Pick the right keywords




            adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal
Local SEO
Pick the right keywords




Local SEO
Get Reviews




Local SEO
Get Reviews
                                        Google Local (381M)



               MerchantCircle (9M)                            Judys Book (273K)

             Superpages                                                  Local.com
             (16M)                                                       (32M)

                                                                             Dex (5M)
             Bing
             Local
             (48M)                                                                 Yahoo
                                                                                   Local
                                                                                   (65M)
            Insider
            Pages (5M)
                                                                         Yelp (18M)
                YP.com (26M)
                                                              Citysearch (34M)


Local SEO                            Mapquest (78M)
Get Reviews
                                        Google Local (381M)



               MerchantCircle (9M)                            Judys Book (273K)

             Superpages                                                  Local.com
             (16M)                                                       (32M)

                                                                             Dex (5M)
             Bing
             Local
             (48M)                                                                 Yahoo
                                                                                   Local
                                                                                   (65M)
            Insider
            Pages (5M)
                                                                         Yelp (18M)
                YP.com (26M)
                                                              Citysearch (34M)


Local SEO                            Mapquest (78M)
Get Reviews
                                        Google Local (381M)



               MerchantCircle (9M)                            Judys Book (273K)

             Superpages                                                  Local.com
             (16M)                                                       (32M)

                                                                             Dex (5M)
             Bing
             Local
             (48M)                                                                 Yahoo
                                                                                   Local
                                                                                   (65M)
            Insider
            Pages (5M)
                                                                         Yelp (18M)
                YP.com (26M)
                                                              Citysearch (34M)


Local SEO                            Mapquest (78M)
Get Citations




Local SEO
Get Citations




Local SEO
Get Citations

     Use your        ubl.org
     business
     name, phone     Your citys business directory
     number and
                     Professional associations
     address
     consistently    Manufacturer websites

                     Press releases & press coverage

                     Contributed articles & blogs




Local SEO
Who is Local SEO for?

            Everybody

      Claim & complete
       your place page         Especially when...

                                You 鍖t neatly into a known
                                business category

                                You get foot traf鍖c

                                You have a shot at position #1


Local SEO
Paid Listings




http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/zoonabar/154373661
                                                                 PPC Ads
Paid Listings




Local Listings


                 Paid
Geographic Targeting




                  PPC
Turn it On & O鍖
II can switch it on to hit sales targets
   or to ll in gaps in my schedule.




                                           PPC
pay your way to the top of results




                                     PPC
Long-tail Keyword Targeting




                        PPC
ROI




100 clicks generate two conversions, each click costs $1, each conversion costs $50

                                              CPC x Clicks
             Cost per Acquisition (CPA) =
                                            # of Conversions
ROI




The Bakery: clicks cost $0.40, 5% (5/100) convert to sales. CPA = $8

                       Too Much!
ROI




The Furniture Restorer: clicks cost $2.00, 2% (2/100) convert to sales. CPA = $100


                           Just Right!
Who is PPC for?

   Businesses that
  Have a good idea of
   the value of a lead
                                But not so much when ...
     Dont rank well in
             local SEO          The value of a lead is low

    Can afford CPC &            People dont tend to search for
   management costs             what you sell

     Do business in a           You have a long sales cycle
region, not just a town

                                                             PPC
Web SEO




http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/zoonabar/154373661
                                                           Web SEO
Paid Listings




               Local Listings


                                Paid

Web Listings
Mmm
             Next stop:
                                                              donuts!
              bakery




           Keyword research bene鍖ts local listings, paid listings and web SEO.
http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/tanelteemusk/2966785202/
Unique, accurate page titles    Sitemap.xml                  Duplicate content
and meta description tag
                                No cloaking
Human-readable URLs
Keyword-heavy links                             On-Site Factors
                                No links to web spam sites
                                Frequent server downtime
H tags used for important
content                       Invisible text                 Low content to code ratio
Alt tags on images            Uncrawlable text               Keyword prominence
Keyword-rich domain name  Write good quality content.
                              Keyword font size              Keyword in alt text
Robots.txt                      Keyword phrase order         Ef鍖cient linking to all pages
                           Write each page to highlight Keyword font size
Quality of other sites you link Valid internal links
to                         one or two keywords.  Go deep.
                                Intra-site linking           Keyword phrase order
Location in site hierarchy
                           Important content is text, not Valid internal links
                                Page 鍖le size
Page load time
                           graphics. Avoid Flash.
                               URL length                 Intra-site linking
Keyword proximity               Keyword stuf鍖ng              Page 鍖le size
Number of links on a page       Excessive cross-linking      URL length
Frequency of page updates       Updating content too         Keyword stuf鍖ng
Domain age                      frequently                   Too many hyphens in URL
Keyword density                 Excessive javascript         Page theming & consistency
Topic of other sites you link   Using frames                 Age of page vs. age of site
to                              Single pixel links           Overuse of H1 tags    Web SEO
Get Inbound Links
                ubl.org
Use your
business name   Your citys business directory
consistently
                Professional associations
& always try
                Manufacturer websites
to get a link
                Press releases & press coverage

                Contributed articles & blogs




                                            Web SEO
Who is Web SEO for?
                    Especially when...

                    Local results arent shown for
                    some % of your keywords
     Everybody
                    Youre trying to reach a national
 Cover the basics   audience

                    Youve got lots of content or
                    products covered on your
                    website

                    Expertise is an important part of
                    your business

                                              Web SEO
Measuring Results
Track Ranking
Measure Tra鍖c
Measure Revenue


http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/wapster/914442189/
Local Online Marketing
Twitter: @TwoOctobers
                         Blog: www.TwoOctobers.com/blog
Facebook: Two Octobers
How to Rank in Google
                Additional image credits, slide 11
     http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/autohistorian/4936499517/
    http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/27745117@N00/3901450063/
    http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/thetruthabout/4600646376/
      http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/mr_t_in_dc/2936284329/
        http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/dan4th/3107012507/

More Related Content

How to Rank in Google

  • 1. How to Rank in Google
  • 2. Hello! How consumers search Local listings Paid listings Web SEO Measuring results
  • 3. Two Octobers Helps local businesses get customers through online marketing. http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/adulau/4242287504
  • 4. Consumers Primary Source to Find Local Businesses 30% 20% 10% Search Internet Local Print YP Other Engines YP Search Source: TMP Directional Marketing/15miles & comScore, Local Search Usage Study, Q3 2010
  • 5. Why Consumers Select a Local Business 30% 20% 10% Business Most Ratings & First Has Print Location Familiar Reviews Result YP Ads Source: TMP Directional Marketing/15miles & comScore, Local Search Usage Study, Q3 2010
  • 6. e Search Engines We Use 70% 60% 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% Google Yahoo! Bing Ask AOL Source: Hitwise, 4 weeks ending 01/01/11
  • 7. Paid Listings Local Listings Paid Web Listings
  • 8. How We Look At Search Results 息 2010, ionadas local LLC and Sentient Services, LP www.ionadas.com, www.sentientservices.com
  • 14. Mmm Next stop: donuts! bakery Research the keywords people use to 鍖nd businesses like yours. http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/tanelteemusk/2966785202/
  • 15. Pick the right keywords adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal Local SEO
  • 16. Pick the right keywords Local SEO
  • 18. Get Reviews Google Local (381M) MerchantCircle (9M) Judys Book (273K) Superpages Local.com (16M) (32M) Dex (5M) Bing Local (48M) Yahoo Local (65M) Insider Pages (5M) Yelp (18M) YP.com (26M) Citysearch (34M) Local SEO Mapquest (78M)
  • 19. Get Reviews Google Local (381M) MerchantCircle (9M) Judys Book (273K) Superpages Local.com (16M) (32M) Dex (5M) Bing Local (48M) Yahoo Local (65M) Insider Pages (5M) Yelp (18M) YP.com (26M) Citysearch (34M) Local SEO Mapquest (78M)
  • 20. Get Reviews Google Local (381M) MerchantCircle (9M) Judys Book (273K) Superpages Local.com (16M) (32M) Dex (5M) Bing Local (48M) Yahoo Local (65M) Insider Pages (5M) Yelp (18M) YP.com (26M) Citysearch (34M) Local SEO Mapquest (78M)
  • 23. Get Citations Use your ubl.org business name, phone Your citys business directory number and Professional associations address consistently Manufacturer websites Press releases & press coverage Contributed articles & blogs Local SEO
  • 24. Who is Local SEO for? Everybody Claim & complete your place page Especially when... You 鍖t neatly into a known business category You get foot traf鍖c You have a shot at position #1 Local SEO
  • 28. Turn it On & O鍖 II can switch it on to hit sales targets or to ll in gaps in my schedule. PPC
  • 29. pay your way to the top of results PPC
  • 31. ROI 100 clicks generate two conversions, each click costs $1, each conversion costs $50 CPC x Clicks Cost per Acquisition (CPA) = # of Conversions
  • 32. ROI The Bakery: clicks cost $0.40, 5% (5/100) convert to sales. CPA = $8 Too Much!
  • 33. ROI The Furniture Restorer: clicks cost $2.00, 2% (2/100) convert to sales. CPA = $100 Just Right!
  • 34. Who is PPC for? Businesses that Have a good idea of the value of a lead But not so much when ... Dont rank well in local SEO The value of a lead is low Can afford CPC & People dont tend to search for management costs what you sell Do business in a You have a long sales cycle region, not just a town PPC
  • 36. Paid Listings Local Listings Paid Web Listings
  • 37. Mmm Next stop: donuts! bakery Keyword research bene鍖ts local listings, paid listings and web SEO. http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/tanelteemusk/2966785202/
  • 38. Unique, accurate page titles Sitemap.xml Duplicate content and meta description tag No cloaking Human-readable URLs Keyword-heavy links On-Site Factors No links to web spam sites Frequent server downtime H tags used for important content Invisible text Low content to code ratio Alt tags on images Uncrawlable text Keyword prominence Keyword-rich domain name Write good quality content. Keyword font size Keyword in alt text Robots.txt Keyword phrase order Ef鍖cient linking to all pages Write each page to highlight Keyword font size Quality of other sites you link Valid internal links to one or two keywords. Go deep. Intra-site linking Keyword phrase order Location in site hierarchy Important content is text, not Valid internal links Page 鍖le size Page load time graphics. Avoid Flash. URL length Intra-site linking Keyword proximity Keyword stuf鍖ng Page 鍖le size Number of links on a page Excessive cross-linking URL length Frequency of page updates Updating content too Keyword stuf鍖ng Domain age frequently Too many hyphens in URL Keyword density Excessive javascript Page theming & consistency Topic of other sites you link Using frames Age of page vs. age of site to Single pixel links Overuse of H1 tags Web SEO
  • 39. Get Inbound Links ubl.org Use your business name Your citys business directory consistently Professional associations & always try Manufacturer websites to get a link Press releases & press coverage Contributed articles & blogs Web SEO
  • 40. Who is Web SEO for? Especially when... Local results arent shown for some % of your keywords Everybody Youre trying to reach a national Cover the basics audience Youve got lots of content or products covered on your website Expertise is an important part of your business Web SEO
  • 45. Local Online Marketing Twitter: @TwoOctobers Blog: www.TwoOctobers.com/blog Facebook: Two Octobers
  • 46. How to Rank in Google Additional image credits, slide 11 http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/autohistorian/4936499517/ http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/27745117@N00/3901450063/ http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/thetruthabout/4600646376/ http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/mr_t_in_dc/2936284329/ http://www.鍖ickr.com/photos/dan4th/3107012507/