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Practical Introduction to
A/B Testing
Alex Alwan
Alex Alwan
Sn. Product manager / Consultant
Worked at Rackspace, Airbrake, and Spark Networks
Over 8 years of experience in product management
Data driven
Interested in growth strategies, data science, and Clash Royale
What is A/B testing?
Facebook
keeps
changing the
app design,
why?
Netflix keeps
changing the
shows
thumbnail,
why?
Practical Introduction to A/B Testing
4.78%
Traffic
50%50%
A/B testing is observing what people do,
not what they say.
Where do we start?
Start With The User Funnel
Homepage visits
Exploring the site
Register
Make
payment
Clicked ad
Landing page visits
Register
Make
payment
User Funnel - SaaS Product
Homepage visits
Pricing page visits
Select plan
Make
payment
Register / Setup
Repeat
SaaS Product - Airbrake.io
SaaS Product - Airbrake.io
SaaS Product - Airbrake.io
Airbrake.io - Define User Funnel
Homepage visits
Pricing page visits
Select plan
Make
payment
Register / Setup
Repeat
1,000
900
500
200
5040
Make
payment
Homepage visits
Pricing page visits
Select plan
Register / Setup
Repeat
1,000
900
500
200
5040
90%
55.56%
40%
25%80%
Airbrake.io - Calculate Conversion Rates
* Sample numbers
*
Make
payment
Homepage visits
Pricing page visits
Select plan
Register / Setup
Repeat
1,000
900
500
200
5040
90%
55.56%
40%
25%80%
Airbrake.io - Define Opportunities
* Sample numbers
*
Design the Experiment
Improve Sign Up - Design The Experiment
1 page form 2 page form
22.2%
18% Completion 22% Completion
Control Variant
* Sample numbers
*
Set the Metrics
Set The Metrics
Click Through Rate Click Through ProbabilityVs
CTR =
# Page Visits
# Signups
CTP =
Unique Page Visits
Unique Signups
Which metric should we use?
Example
CTR = 2.5 CTP = 0.5
1 1
Conversions
Visits
0 5
Select the best metric for each experiment
Experiment Metric
CTR on the buttonUpdate the content of pricing
page.
Change the color of Check
Pricing Button on Homepage.
Remove credit card info from
sign up form.
CTP on the button
Probability of completing the
registration
Probability of of starting the
registration process
Difficult Metrics - Hard to Calculate
Lifetime Value
Virality
Customer Satisfaction
Complex Metrics
Viral Growth Factor = X * Y * Z
X = % of users who invite other people
Y = average # of people that they invited
Z = % of users who accepted an invitation
Example:
Viral Growth Factor = 0.5 * 8 * 37.5%
Viral Growth Factor = 1.5
Clean the Traffic
A/B Testing - Filter Traffic
Spam
Internal traffic
A/B Testing - Segment Traffic
By platform
By traffic source
By registration status
By user-active status
Collect Data
Collect Data - How long should I run the
experiment?
The goal is to be certain = Statistically significant
We keep it running until we have statistically significant
data.
A/B Significance Test - Kissmetrics Tool
A/B Significance Test - Kissmetrics Tool
Test 1 --> 15% improvement
Collect Data - Long vs Short Testing Period
0 Month 6 Month
Test 1 --> 10% improvement
0 Month 2 Month
Test 2 --> 5% improvement
Test 3 --> 15% improvement
2 Month 4 Month
4 Month 6 Month
Thanks
Alex Alwan
alex.m.alwan@gmail.com

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